Need Help?
Call Us Toll Free!
1-877-843-8374

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: $0.00

Missouri Assisted Living Regulations

Missouri
Assisted Living
Regulations

Administrator Continuing Education

Hours: 12 Hours
Frequency: Annually

 

Licensee shall complete at least forty (40) clock hours of board-approved continuing education.

A minimum of ten (10) clock hours must be in patient-care related offerings.   
A minimum of thirty (30) clock hours toward the forty (40) required shall be obtained through attendance at board approved continuing education programs or academic courses, as defined in 19 CSR 73- 2.031(2)(A)–(K).

A maximum of twenty (20) clock hours of the forty (40) clock hours may be from on-line continuing education programs if a Missouri board-approved training agency offers the program.

Each licensee whose initial licensure period is less than twenty-four (24) months shall be required to obtain at least one and one-half (1 1/2) hours of continuing education for each month in the initial licensure period which shall include programs covering patient-care related topics as defined in 19

CSR 73-2.031(2)(A)–(F).

19 CSR 73-2

For more information visit Missouri Board of Nursing Home Administrators.


All Staff Fire Safety Training

Hours: Topic Specific
Frequency: Every 6 months

 

The facility shall ensure that fire safety training is provided to all employees:

1. During employee orientation;

2. At least every six (6) months; and

3. When training needs are identified as a result of fire drill evaluations.


The training shall include, but is not limited to, the following:

1. Prevention of fire ignition, detection of fire, and control of fire development;

2. Confinement of the effects of fire;

3. Procedures for moving residents to an area of refuge, if applicable;

4. Use of alarms;

5. Transmission of alarms to the fire department;

6. Response to alarms;

7. Isolation of fire;

8. Evacuation of immediate area and building;

9. Preparation of floors and facility for evacuation; and

10. Use of the evacuation plan as required by section (5) of this rule.

19 CSR 30-86

For more information visit Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services.


Direct Care Staff Additional Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders Training

Hours: 3 Hours
Frequency: Ongoing

 

For employees providing direct care to such persons, the orientation training shall include at least three (3) hours of training including at a minimum an overview of mentally confused residents such as those having Alzheimer’s disease and related dementias, communicating with persons with dementia, behavior management, promoting independence in activities of daily living, and understanding and dealing with family issues.

For all employees involved in the care of persons with dementia, dementia-specific training shall be incorporated into ongoing in-service curricula.

19 CSR 30-86

For more information visit Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services.


Indirect Care Staff Additional Alzheimer’s Disease and Related Disorders Training

Hours: 1 Hour
Frequency: Ongoing


For other employees who do not provide direct care for, but may have daily contact with, such persons, the orientation training shall include at least one (1) hour of training including at a minimum an overview of mentally confused residents such as those having dementias as well as communicating with persons with dementia.

For all employees involved in the care of persons with dementia, dementia-specific training shall be incorporated into ongoing in-service curricula.

19 CSR 30-86

For more information visit Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services.


Resident Transfer Training

Hours: 1 Hour
Frequency: Annually


The facility shall ensure that all staff responsible for transferring residents are appropriately trained to transfer residents safely.

Individuals authorized to provide this training include a licensed nurse, a physical therapist, a physical therapy assistant, an occupational therapist or a certified occupational therapy assistant. The individual who provides the transfer training shall observe the caregiver’s skills when checking competency in completing safe transfers, shall document the date(s) of training and competency and shall sign and maintain training documentation.

Initial training shall include a minimum of two (2) classroom instruction hours in addition to the on-the-job training related to safely transferring residents who need assistance with transfers.  The facility shall ensure that a minimum of one (1) hour of transfer training is provided by a licensed nurse annually regarding safe transfer skills.

19 CSR 30-86

For more information visit Missouri Department of Health & Senior Services.


Online Course Preview

Staying Happy and Healthy

Learn the importance of maintaining your own health and happiness as a caregiver.

Video Placeholder
Find the training solution that's right for you:
Self-paced, online training for individuals.
Buy Now
Learn what courses meet the state requirements for your company.
Close