Need Help?
Call Us Toll Free!
1-877-843-8374

You have no items in your shopping cart.

Subtotal: $0.00

Virginia Assisted Living Regulations

Virginia
Assisted Living
Regulations

Nursing Home Administrator Continuing Education

Hours: 20 Hours
Frequency: Annually

 

In order to renew a nursing home administrator license, an applicant shall attest on his renewal application to completion of 20 hours of approved continuing education for each renewal year.

Up to 10 of the 20 hours may be obtained through Internet or self-study courses and up to 10 continuing education hours in excess of the number required may be transferred or credited to the next renewal year.

18VAC95-20-175

For more information visit Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators.

Residential Care Administrator Continuing Education

Hours: 20 Hours
Frequency: Annually

 

For facilities licensed for residential living care only, the administrator shall attend at least 20 hours of training related to management or operation of a residential facility for adults or relevant to the population in care within 12 months from the date of employment and annually thereafter from that date.

When adults with mental impairments reside in the facility, at least five of the required 20 hours of training shall focus on topics related to residents’ mental impairments. Documentation of attendance
shall be retained at the facility and shall include title of course, name of the entity that provided the training, date and number of hours.  For facilities licensed for both residential and assisted living care, the administrator shall meet the continuing education requirements for licensure as an assisted living
facility or nursing home administrator, whichever is applicable.

18VAC95-20-175

For more information visit Virginia Board of Long-Term Care Administrators.

Manager Continuing Education

Hours: 16 Hours
Frequency: Annually

 

The manager shall attend at least 16 hours of training related to management or operation of a residential facility for adults or relevant to the population in care within each 12-month period.

When adults with mental impairments reside in the facility, at least four of the required 16 hours of training shall focus on topics related to residents’ mental impairments. Documentation of attendance shall be retained at the facility and shall include title of course, name of the entity that provided the training, date and number of hours.

22 VAC 40-72-220

For more information visit Virginia Department of Social Services.

Direct Care Staff Continuing Education-Residential Living Only

Hours: 8 Hours
Frequency: Annually

 

In facilities licensed for residential living care only, all direct care staff shall attend at least eight hours of training annually (in addition to (i) required first aid training; (ii) CPR training, if taken; and (iii) for medication aides, continuing education required by the Virginia Board of Nursing).

Training for the first year shall commence no later than 60 days after employment.

1. The training shall be relevant to the population in care and shall be provided by a qualified individual through in-service training programs or institutes, workshops, classes, or conferences.
2. When adults with mental impairments reside in the facility, at least two of the required eight hours of training shall focus on the resident who is mentally impaired.
3. Documentation of the type of training received, the entity that provided the training, number of hours of training, and dates of the training shall be kept by the facility in a manner that allows for identification by individual staff person and is considered part of the staff member’s record.

In facilities licensed for both residential and assisted living care, all direct care staff shall attend at least 16 hours of training annually (in addition to (i) required first aid training; (ii) CPR training, if taken; and (iii) for medication aides, continuing education required by the Virginia Board of Nursing). Training for the first year shall commence no later than 60 days after employment.

1. The training shall be relevant to the population in care and shall be provided by a qualified individual through in-service training programs or institutes, workshops, classes, or conferences.
2. When adults with mental impairments reside in the facility, at least four of the required 16 hours of training shall focus on the resident who is mentally impaired.
3. Documentation of the type of training received, the entity that provided the training, number of hours of training, and dates of the training shall be kept by the facility in a manner that allows for identification by individual staff person and is considered part of the staff person's record.   

EXCEPTION: Direct care staff who are licensed health care professionals or
certified nurse aides shall attend at least 12 hours of annual training.

22 VAC 40-72-260.

For more information visit Virginia Department of Social Services.

Direct Care Staff Continuing Education-Residential & Assisted Living

Hours: 16 Hours
Frequency: Annually

 

In facilities licensed for both residential and assisted living care, all direct care staff shall attend at least 16 hours of training annually (in addition to (i) required first aid training; (ii) CPR training, if taken; and (iii) for medication aides, continuing education required by the Virginia Board of Nursing).

Training for the first year shall commence no later than 60 days after employment.

1. The training shall be relevant to the population in care and shall be provided by a qualified individual through in-service training programs or institutes, workshops, classes, or conferences.
2. When adults with mental impairments reside in the facility, at least four of the required 16 hours of training shall focus on the resident who is mentally impaired.
3. Documentation of the type of training received, the entity that provided the training, number of hours of training, and dates of the training shall be kept by the facility in a manner that allows for identification by individual staff person and is considered part of the staff person's record. 

EXCEPTION: Direct care staff who are licensed health care professionals or certified nurse aides shall attend at least 12 hours of annual training.

22 VAC 40-72-260.

For more information visit Virginia Department of Social Services.

Direct Care Staff Aggressive or Restrained Resident Training

Hours: Topic Specific
Frequency: Annually

 

The following training is required for staff in assisted living facilities that accept, or have in care, residents who are or who may be aggressive or restrained:


1. Aggressive residents.
    a. Direct care staff shall be trained in methods of dealing with residents who have a history of aggressive behavior or of dangerously agitated states prior to being involved in the care of such residents.
    b. This training shall include, at a minimum, information, demonstration, and practical experience in self-protection and in the prevention and de-escalation of aggressive behavior.

2. Restrained residents.
    a. Prior to being involved in the care of residents in restraints, direct care staff shall be appropriately trained in caring for the health needs of such residents.
    b. This training shall include, at a minimum, information, demonstration
and experience in:
      1. The proper techniques for applying and monitoring restraints;
      2. Skin care appropriate to prevent redness, breakdown, and decubiti;
      3. Active and active assisted range of motion to prevent contractures;
      4. Assessment of blood circulation to prevent obstruction of blood flow and promote adequate blood circulation to all extremities; 
      5. Turning and positioning to prevent skin breakdown and keep the lungs clear;
      6. Provision of sufficient bed clothing and covering to maintain a normal body temperature;
      7. Provision of additional attention to meet the physical, mental, emotional, and social needs of the restrained resident; and
      8. Awareness of possible risks associated with restraint use and methods of reducing or eliminating such risks.

3. The training described in subdivisions 1 and 2 of this section shall meet the following criteria:
    a. Training shall be provided by a qualified health professional.

4. Refresher training for all direct care staff shall be provided at least annually or more often as needed.
    a. The refresher training shall encompass the techniques described in subdivision 1 or 2 of this section, or both.
    b. A record of the refresher training and a description of the content of the training shall be maintained by the facility.

22 VAC 40-72-310

For more information visit Virginia Department of Social Services.

RN/LPN Continuing Education

Hours: 30 Hours
Frequency: Biennially

 

Teaching or developing nursing-related continuing education courses for up to 30 contact hours;

Fifteen contact hours of workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing and 640 hours of active practice as a nurse; or

Thirty contact hours of workshops, seminars, conferences, or courses relevant to the practice of nursing. 

Licensees born in even-numbered years shall renew their licenses by the last day of the birth month in even-numbered years. Licensees born in odd-numbered years shall renew their licenses by the last day of the birth month in odd-numbered years.

18VAC90-19-160

For more information visit Virginia Board of Nursing.

Online Course Preview

Staying Happy and Healthy

Learn the importance of maintaining your own health and happiness as a caregiver.

Video Placeholder
Find the training solution that's right for you:
Self-paced, online training for individuals.
Buy Now
Learn what courses meet the state requirements for your company.
Close